Discover scholarly, archival, and special collections materials through Texas Wesleyan University's Digital Collections.
Founded in 1890, Texas Wesleyan has seen many changes and names throughout its history. First known as Polytechnic College, the campus was designated the Woman’s College for Southern Methodism, eventually becoming Texas Woman’s College in 1914. After the Great Depression the college became Texas Wesleyan College in 1935 with men being readmitted that same year. Over the years Texas Wesleyan grew its academic programs while maintaining its foundation in the liberal arts. Recognizing the growth in programs, trustees changed the name to Texas Wesleyan University in 1989.
Take a peek into the past with these photos from the early days of Texas Wesleyan’s history.
Not sure where to start?
Select one or more terms from one or more categories below to discover materials relevant to your research. The number of results is automatically displayed next to the 'Search' button upon selection.
Please note that when multiple terms are selected from within a single category, results could include any of the terms (implied Boolean OR), however when terms are selected from multiple categories, results will include terms from all chosen categories (implied Boolean AND).